How I Got Published: Gina Buonaguro and Janice Kirk

 

 GINA BUONAGURO and JANICE KIRK live in Toronto and Kingston, respectively. After meeting in a French class in Kingston, they became writing partners and co-authors. They are the authors of three novels, The Sidewalk Artist, Ciao Bella, and The Wolves of St. Peter’s, which was longlisted for the 2014 Arthur Ellis Best Novel Award. Together they also write romances under the pen name Meadow Taylor, their most recent being the romantic suspense, Midnight in Venice.

 How We Got Published

We met in 2001 in a French class in Kingston, Ontario soon after Gina moved there. We had to introduce each other and discovered we were both interested in writing. After meeting regularly for a year to exchange and discuss our individual projects, we decided to write a novel together, which ultimately became The Sidewalk Artist.

Eventually Gina moved to Toronto, though we chose to remain writing partners. After receiving many rejections from agents and publishers for The Sidewalk Artist, a very serendipitous event occurred. Gina’s new house had a very large parking lot, and one of her neighbours asked to rent a parking spot there while he renovated his kitchen. When she realized the renovator was the writer David Macfarlane, an idea was born: instead of asking for rent, she and Janice asked David to read their manuscript. He liked it enough to suggest they pass it on to a new agent named John in his agency.

Then another serendipitous event happened. John took the manuscript home and put it on the top of a very large pile. His wife Gail happened to read the first page… and couldn’t stop. She told John he had to read it and kept passing him the pages as she finished them. He called the next day to offer us representation and has been our agent ever since.

The moral of the story? Write a good book to start with, network wherever and whenever you can, and remember that luck comes to the prepared.

 Midnight in Venice is written under the pen name Meadow Taylor.

 

From the author of The Billionaire’s Secrets and Falling for Rain, Midnight in Venice is a captivating new contemporary tale of romance and suspense set in the magical city of Venice, Italy.

Readers met and fell in love with Olivia Moretti in Meadow Taylor’s hugely popular holiday story Christmas in Venice, where Olivia is rescued by a gorgeous Italian cop, Alessandro Rossi, during an airport bomb scare. Now, as the new year begins, her joy at having landed her dream job in Venice’s thriving art world is surpassed only by the realization that she and Alessandro are falling in love—and her surprise that he turns out to be not just the son of a tycoon, but a gifted pianist and former racecar driver who is equally at home in the city’s bejewelled palazzos as patrolling its streets. Olivia can’t believe that her life now includes masked balls, exquisite music, romantic trips to Paris—and true love. But all this is put in jeopardy when a business trip to New York City finds her accused of a crime she didn’t commit—and not even Alessandro believes she’s innocent. Can her new love uncover the truth and keep Olivia’s Italian dream from becoming a nightmare?

A thrilling, passion-filled story set among the dazzling palaces, canals, and piazzas of one of the world’s most beautiful cities, Midnight in Venice is perfect for fans of Danielle Steel, Nora Roberts, and lovers of contemporary romance everywhere.

 You can read more about Gina and Janice (and Meadow!) on their website: http://sidewalkartist.blogspot.ca/

         

16 thoughts on “How I Got Published: Gina Buonaguro and Janice Kirk

  1. Wow, what a stroke of luck with the parking situation. And even “luckier” the book was great with a fabulous first page!!! I’m intrigued by the idea of a writing team. I am wondering why the team. What are the benefits in writing together (usually we think of writing as a solitary occupation)?

    • Hi – we posted a link below about why and how we coauthor. For us, it boils down to two heads are better than one – and sometimes you are writing even when you’re not writing!

      • I think co-authoring is such a great idea. Your article in the Huffington Post really outlines the advantages of co-authoring. Writing alone can be both de-motivating and lonely. Having someone else to bounce off ideas is truly precious.
        Whenever I read the acknowledgments of well known writers, the list goes on proving that writing is really a collaborative effort. 🙂

  2. I love these inspirational stories you share Carol. And, it is interesting to find how many fascinating writers there are living and from my own hometown, Toronto. 🙂

  3. Great spotlight dear Carol… I nodded in agreement with the author’s statement: “Remember that luck comes to the prepared”… I really enjoyed the feature here.
    All the Best to you. Happy sunday and week ahead, Aquileana 😀

  4. I think preparing for luck is one of the most critical tasks we writers can undertake. You never know who we might be sitting next to on a flight or making small talk with at a friend’s party. Thanks for sharing this story!

I'd love to hear your comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s